Day 17 Sliding Down 30ft Waterfalls and Night Time Runs

We woke and lazed about our camping spot eating breakfast and cleaning wiggles. Eventually we got moving, picked up camp and headed to the waterfall we didn’t get to yesterday. It cost one us dollar or 500 collones to go in. The water was cool and refreshing. We were traveling through, as we were told, one of the hottest weeks of the year in that region. We all jumped in and soon discovered that we could slide down the ~30ft waterfall. I wasted no time climbing the rocks to reach the top (though it turns out there was a much easier trail). I was a little nervous, he its always look bigger when looking down instead of up. I sat down and pushed forward. I knew the were no rocks below as we had scouted it out first but was not sure if I would catch rocks on the way down. The slide was smooth and I sqweeled as I was launched free from the rocks and into the water. It was a blast and soon everyone in our party was up and down the waterfall. We even made some new friends who joined us down the waterfall slide.

On the drive back to the Playa we stopped by a bamboo forest on the side of the road. We took some pictures and wondered around for a bit before surrendering to the bugs and fleeing with our skins mostly intact.

We set up camp on the beach again and even though the bioluminescent bacteria were not as bright as the first night we swam among the stars again. Thad, Angela, and I held a spontaneous beach marathon in the star light down the dark beach as the others tended to their beach fire. I slept well that night exhausted and happy.

Leave a comment